MPs Catherine McKinnell and Chris Matheson become IPT Trustees | IPT

MPs Catherine McKinnell and Chris Matheson join the Industry and Parliament Trust’s Board of Trustees

We are delighted to announce both Catherine McKinnell MP and Chris Matheson MP have been appointed as trustees of the Industry and Parliament Trust.

The IPT is delighted to announce that MPs Catherine McKinnell and Chris Matheson have been appointed as trustees of the Industry and Parliament Trust. After being co-opted in February this year, they were confirmed unanimously at the IPT AGM on Wednesday 9 September 2020. 

Both Catherine and Chris will bring with them valuable expertise and knowledge that is hugely important in supporting the IPT’s charitable objectives. Having both previously completed Fellowships and being regular policy events attendees, they are thoroughly familiar with the IPT’s work in helping create a more educated, business-aware Parliament.

Catherine McKinnell was elected in the 2010 general election as the MP for Newcastle Upon Tyne North. Since then she has served as Shadow Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury and Shadow Attorney General. Most recently, Catherine was elected as chair of the Petitions Select Committee for the new Parliament. She completed an IPT Fellowship in 2018, focusing on skills and employment in the local economy.

Chris Matheson has been the MP for City of Chester since 2015 and has in April this year he became Shadow Minister of State for Media. He completed his IPT Fellowship in Aviation and Aerospace, with visits to businesses including NATS, Bombardier Belfast and Airbus UK. 

As a non-partisan organisation, the IPT is committed to upholding a neutral standing in political representation on its Board of Trustees. Recruiting two Labour MPs reflects this and ensures a continued cross-party showing: three Labour (Catherine McKinnell MP, Chris Matheson MP and Ian Mearns MP), three Conservative (John Howell OBE MP, Kevin Hollinrake and Pauline Latham OBE MP), one SNP (Lisa Cameron MP), one Lib Dem (Baroness Scott of Needham Market) and one non-affiliated (Lord Holmes of Richmond MBE).