Insights on the new Parliament | IPT


The 2019 general election, held on the 12 December, saw 155 new MPs elected. In this case, new is defined as MPs who did not sit in the last Parliament; there are 15 ‘new’ MPs that sat in Parliament before the 2017 general election. 

Out of the 155 new MPs:

  • 106 Conservative,
  • 26 Labour,
  • 13 Scottish National Party
  • 4 Liberal Democrat,
  • 2 Social Democratic and Labour Party
  • 1 Sinn Féin, two Democratic Unionist Party,
  • 1 Alliance
  • 1 Independent. 

The youngest MP elected in 2019, also known as the Baby of the House, is 23 year old Nadia Whittome, Labour MP for Nottingham East, and Sir Bill Cash MP, Conservative MP for Stafford, is the oldest MP of the Parliament at 79.

Sir Peter Bottomley MP – one of our very first Fellows – became Father of the House (the MP with the longest unbroken service). He was first elected as the Member of Parliament for Woolwich West (later to become Eltham) in 1975 before changing to the Worthing West constituency in 1997. He has taken over from Ken Clarke, who stepped down at the election.

In the same vein, in 2017 Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP became the very first Mother of the House as she is the longest serving woman MP having been elected for the first time in 1982.

Diversity in the 2019 Parliament

The 2019 General Election has produced the most diverse House of Commons to date, with a rise in the number of women, people from ethnic minority backgrounds and LGBT elected members. There has also been an increase in disabled representation.

Gender - 34% of MPs are women (220/650). This is an increase of nine from the outgoing Parliament.

Ethnicity – 10% of MPs (65/650) elected in 2019 are from an ethnic minority which is an increase of 52 from 2017.

Sexuality - at least 7.7% of MPs are LGBTQ+ (50/650) - Overall this is an increase from the 2017 election when there were 45 LGBTQ+ members.


This election saw a large number of seats won by small majorities. Out of the 650 seats, 141 of them were won by less than 10%. This includes 36 seats that were won by less then 2 percentage points. On the other side, there were 18 constituencies where the elected MP won over 60% of the vote.

Dan Carden, MP for Liverpool Walton, has the safest seat in the UK with just under 75% of the vote. Whereas the member who won by the smallest margin was Michelle Gildernew, MP for Fermanagh and South Tyrone who won by 57 votes.